South African Cultural Observatory National Conference
arts & culture
Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University



The South African Cultural Observatory 2018 International Conference Speakers.

Master of Ceremonies

Alison Green

Johannesburg, South Africa

Andrina Moodley

Head of content and operations at FORT

Antonio Carlos

Founder & CEO at Economia Creativa Consultancy

Avril Joffe

Economic Sociologist

Boudina McConnachie

Lecturer in ethnomusicology at Rhodes University

Bright Hlongwane

CEO at Isimangaliso Group Pty Ltd

Claire Rousell

Artist and Activist

Denise Roodt

Owner and CEO of The Media Workshop

Dr Edward Dakora

Senior Lecturer at the EMS

Dr Marelize Marx

Faculty of Education, Nelson Mandela University, Port Elizabeth

Dr Siona O’Connell

University of Pretoria

Dr. Sipho Sithole

Founder and owner of Native Rhythms

Elise Brunelle

Financial Manager of Cape Town Opera

Elza-Lynne Kruger

National Director of Tape Aids for the Blind

Fergus Turner

Cape Town, South Africa

Fiona Drummond

Irma Booyens

Senior Research Specialist in the EPD, Cape Town

James Drummond

North West University

Joseph Gaylard

Head of the Johannesburg office of Pro Helvetia

Julie Coetzee

Managing Director of Fly Piggy Fly Entertainment

Leslie Bank

Deputy Executive Director of the Economic Performance and Development Unit at the HSRC

Lungile Dube

Artists Manager

Mandla Maseko

Performing Arts Management Specialist and Consultant

Maria Zofia Libera

Coordinator of the Worldwide Philatelic Observatory

Mhlengi Gumede

Development Practitioner from Durban

Mpubane Emanuel Matlala

University of KwaZulu-Natal

Munyaradzi Chatikobo

Lecturer in Cultural Policy and Management and Drama for Life Departments

Nokwanda Zakiyyah

Digital Content Editor, Johannesburg

Nwabisa Kolisi

Honours and Bachelor’s Degree in Economics at the NMMU

Paul Jones

Director of LUMEC

Prince Mbusi Dube

Founding Curator of the Alexandra Museum of City of Johannesburg

Prof Enyinna Sodienye Nwauche

Professor of law, Nelson Mandela School of Law, University of Fort Hare, East London

Professor Karen Leigh Harris

Department of Historical and Heritage Studies at the University of Pretoria

Professor Mziwoxolo (Mzo) Sirayi

Faculty of the Arts, Tshwane University of Technology

Prof Ncwadi

Associate professor and Head of Department of Economics at Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University

Prof Willie Tafadzwa Chinyamurindi

University of Fort Hare

Raymond Ndhlovu

Rhodes University

Rodney Choromanski

Architect from Durban

Scott Macklin

Creative Director of Interactive Learning and Innovation for Cultivate Learning

Sibongile Musundwa

Creative industries advocate and project manager,South Africa

Tarynne Swarts

World Musician

Thabang Queench

Nelson Mandela University

Traver Mudzonga

Art Director, Brand Strategist, Photographer and Researcher

Yamkela Tywakadi

Published Author

Yvette Hardie

Theatre Director, Producer and Educator

Zayd Minty

Cultural Manager, Curator and Commentator